Work on Razurea

Having created a more detailed description of Danyubao, I went on to work on Razurea, the island-continent where Danyubao is situated.

Firstly, I re-drew the map in my new style:

A map of Razurea made with CC3 and Adobe Photoshop.
A map of Razurea made with CC3 and Adobe Photoshop.

The original Razurea map was one of the first Udarissan maps I made with CC3, as I recall – I was really pleased with how it turned out, but seldom managed to replicate its quality in my other continent maps.

A map of Razurea drawn with CC3 and Corel Photopaint., back in 2014.
A map of Razurea drawn with CC3 and Corel Photopaint., back in 2014.

I also wrote a history of Razurea from ancient times to the founding of Tuyaz-Oa. This took me almost all week, because I want to make my histories sensible, authentic and interesting to read. Many drafts were required!

I wanted to add some maps to show the rise and fall of Razurea’s kingdoms, but such maps can look cluttered with place names and political boundaries, and making the kingdoms different colors might give the map too much of a modern feel.

The history of Razurea was written mainly to provide a background for Tuyaz-Oa, which is what I’m working on now. Still, I am planning to return to the Razurea article, if only to bring the history up to ‘modern’ times.

If I get around to drawing pictures of people from different eras, I think it would really help to bring the history to life! Many one day, I’ll even draw some landscapes…

Leave a Reply

