The Lands of Udaris

Danyubaon man, circa 1200 E.A. (by Louisa Watson and CA3)
Danyubaon man, circa 1200 E.A. (by Louisa Watson and CA3)

I keep changing my mind about what I want this website to be. Is it a brief introduction to the world I’ve created? A reference guide for readers of my books? Or is it a full encyclopedia of Askamar and Udaris?

At the moment, I’ve only got a paragraph or two on each of the lands of Udaris. I didn’t want to give away too much to potential readers of my books. However, having given up on my self-publishing career (although not, of course, on my writing hobby!), I feel like creating an online encyclopedia that I can re-read and admire.

The main problem with publishing my world-building work is that I like to revise the details as I go along (this can currently be seen in the world history, as I try to settle on a system of dates that I like, and in Askamaran place-names). Still, is this really a problem, if no-one else notices? Who, other than myself, will be bothered to read a 1,500 word article on an Udarissan kingdom?

With this in mind, I’ve greatly expanded the Danyubao page. It now includes sections on geography, culture, religion and foreign relations, an illustration of Danyubaon costume (created with the help of Profantasy’s Character Artist 3), and two new maps. A section on history will come later!

Actually, one of the new maps is simply a re-drawn version of the map that was there before.

Here’s the new map:

danyubao-cc3-black-and-white
A map of Danyubao created with CC3 and Adobe Photoshop

Not much has changed, but I wasn’t pleased with the position of the mountains in the original (they need to match the mountains in the larger maps!) I’ve also moved some of the towns around.

Here’s the old map:

danyubao
A map of Danyubao created with CC3 and Adobe Photoshop

And here’s a really old map:

A map of Danyubao created in Corel Photopaint 10
A map of Danyubao created in Corel Photopaint 10
Leave a Reply

