A New Map of Barezeth

A while ago I decided that I was not satisfied with my Askamaran maps, and lately I’ve been giving much more thought to Askamaran languages – mainly because I want the place names on my maps to have meaning.

The result is a new map of Barezeth, this time done with CC3’s black-and-white standard symbol set. While I’ve always thought my colored maps look very atmospheric, the black-and-white ones are easier to draw, easier to read, and the rivers look better.

A map of Barezeth created using CC3 and Adobe Photoshop
A map of Barezeth created using CC3 and Adobe Photoshop

Here is the older version, using the Annual DeRust style and the CC3 Standard Symbol set for the trees.

A map of Barezeth created using CC3 and Adobe Photoshop
A map of Barezeth created using CC3 and Adobe Photoshop

As you can see, some of the place-names have been changed slightly. This time, each one actually means something in an Askamaran language.

The position of the rivers and mountains are based on my original Barezeth map which I drew many years ago, and which I consider more accurate (the changes on the colored map only came about because I based it on a ‘world map’ of Askamar that was lacking in detail).

Leave a Reply

