Maps of the Nayusuru Lands

I can’t believe it’s been seven months since I last drew a map! When I see my maps of the Esu territories, I feel like I could improve them, but one of my aims for 2016 was to finish mapping the Nayusuru territories. I don’t know if I’ll actually manage that, but I should at least try to make a start…

Over the last week, since finishing The Scepter of Ice, I’ve made maps of the rest of north-eastern Askamar (not that the Ankaykari think of it as north-eastern Askamar, because to them ‘north’ is the direction of the Abyss). So, following the links on my website, you can now travel all the way from Veskansare to Rakukath!

I was originally planning to include landscape pictures for each of the Nayusuru territories, but that feels too daunting, so for now only the Esu lands will have artwork. Maybe later, if I’m in the mood for drawing landscapes, I’ll create some pictures of the rest of Askamar.

In the meantime, here are the latest maps I’ve made:

Oumevare

My new map of Oumevare, where Gesmoriul dwells.

A map of Oumevare
A map of Oumevare created using Campaign Cartographer 3

And the older, hand-drawn map:

A map of Oumevare drawn with a tablet in Corel Photo-paint 10
A map of Oumevare drawn with a tablet in Corel Photo-Paint 10

The older map is a rare example of an Askamaran map with a compass.

I like the bleak atmosphere of the new version. It would be fun to create maps of Gesmoriul’s mazes as well, but right now I’m still struggling to draw floor-plans of the Citadels.

Nursumemor

My new map of Nursumemor, where Kurunari dwells.

A map of Nursumemor
A map of Nursumemor created using Campaign Cartographer 3

And the original, hand-drawn map, which (as usual) I did not bother to label:

A map of Nursumemor hand-drawn in Corel Photo-Paint 10
A map of Nursumemor drawn in Corel Photo-Paint 10

I  knew the mountains on the original were no longer accurate, but it was only after I’d finished the map and looked at Ebzazire that I realised I’d put the new mountains in the wrong position, too.

The Veskaarkeshi Mountains lie higher up and follow the curve of the river Sanurath, which needs more lakes and tributaries. How annoying! I’ll have to make some changes later.

Still, I am pleased with the sickly luminous green of the swamp. Of all the maps, this was the most fun to create.

Jasanure

My new map of Jasanure, where Iruzathe dwells:

A map of Jasanure
A map of Jasanure created using Campaign Catographer 3

And the original hand-drawn map:

A map of Jasanure drawn with a tablet in Corel Photo-Paint 10
A map of Jasanure drawn with a tablet in Corel Photo-Paint 10

There’s not much to say about Jasanure. It’s mostly grassland!

The course of the River Xasre has changed quite dramatically since I draw the original, but after getting Nursumemor wrong I decided to check the maps of the surrounding lands before starting this one!

Rakukath

My new map of Rakukath, where Carashanza dwells:

A fantasy map showing the region of Rakukath in the realm of Askamar
A map of Rakukath created using Campaign Cartographer 3

And the original, which had far too many trees:

Rakukath Old Map
A map of Rakukath drawn with a tablet in Corel Photo-Paint 10

Right now, Rakukath is my favorite map!

While I was working on this one, I came upon another attempt I made while I was still learning to use CC3. My plan had been to create a single giant map of Askamar, then zoom in on each region and add in the details.

A map of Rakukath made using Campaign Cartographer 3 (before I really learned how to use it!)
A map of Rakukath made using Campaign Cartographer 3 (before I really learned how to use it!)

I really hope that this is what Rakukath looked like before I started work on it…

 

Leave a Reply

