‘Glowing Waterlilies’

Today I’ve finished a picture that I’ve been working on for ages – Lady Saroparel of Imbire with her servants.

Lady Saroparel of Imbire with her servants Gesmoriul and Vusashare.
Lady Saroparel of Imbire with her servants Gesmoriul and Vusashare.

My mother loves the idea of there being glowing waterlilies in Askamar, so I thought I’d try actually drawing some. Imbire is supposed to be the most beautiful of the Esu territories, so if glowing waterlilies are going to be found anywhere, they’ll be there (if they aren’t native, Saroparel will have imported them – I imagine their land of origin is actually Ummere).

At first I just planned to draw a landscape to illustrate my Imbire page. Then I thought the picture would be more interesting if Saroparel was in it. I wasn’t happy with the composition and I hadn’t attempted any architecture for a while, so I decided to include her Citadel.

Since Saroparel and the Citadel were there, I thought I might as well add Gesmoriul and Vusashare, as I’ve never actually gotten around to drawing the three Ankaykari of Imbire together before… then I drew the adagria to add more interest to the right-hand side of the picture…

The result is my most ambitious piece of artwork to date.

10 points to anyone who recognizes what kind of adgaria that is. You’ve obviously been studying the reference section of my website!

Leave a Reply

