A new map of Nezruthar

I haven’t done much world-building lately, as I am busy writing The Scepter of Ice (I’m more than half way through the 1st draft now). However, I found the time to re-draw the map of Nezruthar. I thought the old version just looked too ugly:

The old map of Nezruthar, created in Campaign Cartographer using the CC3 Annual DeRust Overland Style and CC3 Standard Symbols.
The old map of Nezruthar, created in Campaign Cartographer using the CC3 Annual DeRust Overland Style and CC3 Standard Symbols.

Here is the new version, mainly created in the CC3 Annual DeRust Overland Style (which has nicer-looking mountains – to me, the Standard Symbols look like computer game graphics) and modified in Adobe Photoshop Elements 13. In order to give Nezruthar the frozen look it needs, I manually painted the mists, the snow on the mountains and the ice around the coast.

Nezruthar
The new map of Nezruthar, created using CC3 Annual DeRust Overland Style and Symbols (except for the trees, which still use the CC3 Standard Symbols).

As always when I re-draw a map, the geography has changed slightly: Daramorag is in a new position, several mountain-ranges have moved, and a second lake has appeared. Still, hopefully no one will mind. I’m very pleased with the result!

Leave a Reply

