Looking forward and looking back

So, it is now 2015. Last December I achieved my great ambition of publishing a novel. By the end of this year I want to have published the second book in the Shekruvaris Trilogy: The Scepter of Ice. Right now, however, I need to do a bit of marketing for the first book.

Over the last week I’ve been working on artwork for the book trailer. Here’s a preview:

Sky Battle

It’s a pair of yuyarni locked in combat (although, given the context of the video, they are more likely to be Ankaykari in yuyarni guise). This picture is an updated version of The Skies of Ebzazire, which I created in 2007. As you can see, the design of the yuyarni has changed since then:

The Skies of Ebzazire

The New Year is a good time for thinking about the future, but it’s also a good time to look back at what we’ve achieved. The worlds of Askamar and Udaris have been part of my life since I was sixteen, when they started out as a single rough map and a few character sketches. Back then I doubt I could have imagined the project growing so vast… but I’m delighted that it did!

7 thoughts on “Looking forward and looking back”

    1. You’re right – the yuyarni and the butterfly adagrias do not look at all closely related! Which reminds me, I still have a few adagrias that I plan to draw (or re-draw), but there are some other creatures that I plan to draw first – ones that I hope will look good on cards!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree! The sooner you draw those, the better as it would be ideal to get the cards out for Spring/ Summer Gallery releases. We need a range of cards depicting people and animals living on the lands you so well describe in your book.

        Like

Leave a Reply

